2008 Penalty Free Sweepstakes



(TORONTO, Ontario – November 15, 2007) The Hockey Development Centre for Ontario, in collaboration with its member associations and sponsorship partners, is pleased to announce the details of the 21st edition of the Penalty Free Sweepstakes contest. The program was developed to encourage fair play, skills, safety and sportsmanship in amateur hockey throughout the province of Ontario.
The 2008 Penalty Free Sweepstakes encourages and rewards amateur hockey teams for staying out of the penalty box. A total of 20 sponsorship partners will be supporting this year’s program by contributing over $100,000 in exciting team prizes to amateur hockey teams in Ontario that play a penalty free game during the contest period.
The Penalty Free Sweepstakes is supported by former NHL and Team Canada member Paul Henderson, Hockey Night in Canada host Ron MacLean and former Women’s National and Olympic team member Geraldine Heaney.
The Sweepstakes has enjoyed tremendous success having received over 118,000 entries and reaching over 2 million players of all ages and levels in Ontario since its inception. Sixty-two percent of the teams who have entered the contest have won or tied their games, proving that staying out of the penalty box enhances the team’s chances to be successful on the ice. As an added incentive, the program also features a Penalty Free MVP award that recognizes individual players who exemplify the values of the Penalty Free Sweepstakes – skills, safety and sportsmanship.
Official Entry forms for the 2008 Penalty Free Sweepstakes are available at www.hdco.on.ca
- 30 -
For more information, please contact:
The Hockey Development Centre for Ontario
416-426-7252, toll free 1-888-843-4326
or email hockey@hdco.on.ca
Web site: www.hdco.on.ca


How does a team qualify?

Any amateur hockey team in Ontario can qualify by playing a penalty-free game within the province of Ontario during the contest period (December 1, 2007 to January 31, 2008). If one team plays an entire penalty free game, that team qualifies. If both teams play penalty free then both teams qualify. All games must be refereed by qualified officials and the game sheet must be signed by at least one of the officials. All entries are subject to verification by the Penalty Free Sweepstakes Committee. A team may submit an entry for every penalty free game they play during the contest period. All league, exhibition, tournament and playoff games played penalty free during the contest period may qualify. Intersquad and novelty games do not qualify.

How are the winning teams chosen?

Sweepstakes winners will be drawn at random from the eligible entries received. The draw will be conducted on Friday February 8, 2008 at the offices of the Hockey Development Centre for Ontario (HDCO). Winning teams will be notified within fourteen days of the draw if the team has won a Sweepstakes prize through their team contact.

How does a team enter?

To enter, simply complete an Official Entry form and send it, along with a copy of the game sheet signed by a qualified official, to the HDCO office. Entry forms can be downloaded from the HDCO Web site at www.hdco.on.ca or by contacting the HDCO office. Entries must be received by 4:00 pm Friday, February 1, 2008 to be eligible for the prize draw.

What are the MVP Awards?

To further promote the ideals of the Sweepstakes program, the Hockey Development Centre for Ontario is also offering coaches the opportunity to nominate their team’s Penalty Free MVP.

Each team’s nominee should embody the values of the Penalty Free Sweepstakes – skills, safety and sportsmanship – and have a low number of penalty minutes this season.

Ten winners will be randomly drawn on February 8, 2008 and contacted by phone. Winners will receive a McDonald’s® Great Taste Card, a family pass to the Hockey Hall of Fame and a special trophy.

Coaches can enter one player from their team by filling out the MVP nomination ballot and submitting it to the HDCO office. Ballots can be downloaded from the HDCO Web site or by contacting the HDCO office. Nominations must be received by 4:00 pm Friday, February 1, 2008 (only one nomination per team is eligible).

Play to Win…Play Penalty Free!